Intercultural Meeting

Posted: April 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

Hello everyone.

Last Friday we had a wonderful day thanks to a group of North-American students that visited our English class at Fernão Mendes Pinto.Harmony, Arlene, Bobby, Kayla, Emma, Max, Gabby and Chloe come from different parts of the USA and are currently studying in Portugal in Universidade Nova. They spent the afternoon with 11º3 and there was time to talk, laugh, learn, have fun, discover new things about both countries and just enjoy the chance of being part of an intercultural meeting.

Thank you all for this enriching, rewarding and unforgettable experience! Check the photos :)

Here’s what some of our guests wrote:

Living in Portugal thus far has meant many essays, museums, and grammar classes, so it was wonderful to get out and speak with Portuguese and get out of the pattern of reading everything from a textbook. The fact that the Portuguese in question were amazingly approachable, intelligent and sweet teenagers was just an added bonus, but one that got me thinking. If I learned so much about Portugal through just a few hours of talk (we discussed everything from the Portuguese educational system to dessert recipes to nightlife in Lisbon), how much more could possibly be learned from a sustained interchange relationship? Besides wanting very much to return to the school to see ‘my group’, it reinforced for me exactly how important exchanges are for cultural understanding. With all of our backgrounds (Romania, Portugal, Guinea-Bissau, Dominican Republic, etc.) I felt like I was taking part in an informal, hugely enjoyable meeting of the United Nations. 

Emma

It was truly a pleasure to spend some quality time with your students. They were extremely eager to find out about us and their excitement was contagious! You were right, they are all amazing students and they should all be very proud of their proficiency in English. They all have extremely bright futures ahead of them. Thank you for allowing us to be part of this amazing journey with the students. It is experiences like these that one remembers for a lifetime. I look forward to working with you and the school in the future!

Best of Wishes,

Arlene Sanchez

I understand the struggles of learning a language and when you move to a foreign country and don’t know the language, you can feel pretty helpless. I did, until this experience. This opportunity has satisfied every helpful feeling in my body as well as my every wish of sharing, caring, learning, and especially inspiring. Working with the high school was one of the most inspirational experiences in my travels thus far!! They helped me and I helped them; a truly cultural exchange! Language has always been a struggle for me, but these kids dive in everyday and were comfortable speaking with complete strangers! I am truly inspired to keep pushing for my language skills and keep sharing the ones I have! Thank you all for sharing this experience with me!
Peace,
Harmony
Leave a Reply

